On the Genealogy of Morals

by katystreet

By Friedrich Nietzsche

I read this because a practical philosophy-inclined friend of mine kept mentioning Nietzsche ideas in a way that made me convinced I would be a Nietzsche fan. The book is short, three essays that tie together some of his ideas on the evolution of morals. Nietzsche writes them almost poetically, with stark, arrogant style that’s all his own. Unlike some books in which the writer disappears behind their clean prose, Nietzsche is definitely present.

I loved the beginning, but as I worked through the essays I tired of his style and started to disagree with some of his ideas; at the last essay I became confused with what his subject matter even was. Short as it is, I’m not sure I’d read it again even though I know it deserves several reads to fully understand it.

